Helpful Links and Resources for Seniors

GENERAL HELP
The Savvy Senior www.savvysenior.org
Administration on Aging www.aoa.gov
National Aging Information Center www.aoa.gov/naic/
National Institute on Aging www.nia.nih.gov
Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116 www.eldercare.gov
AARP www.aarp.org
First Gov for Seniors www.seniors.gov
Social Security Administration 1-800-772-1213 www.ssa.gov
Medicare 1-800-633-4227 www.medicare.gov
Department of Veterans Affairs www.va.gov

ALZHEIMER'S
Alzheimer's Association 800-272-3900 www.alz.org
Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center 800-438-4380 www.alzheimers.org

ARTHRITIS
Arthritis Foundation www.arthritis.org
American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons
1-800-824-2663 www.aaos.org
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Information Clearinghouse www.nih/gov/niams

CDKL5 DISORDER
International Foundation for CDKL5 Research www.cdkl5.com

CANCER
American Cancer Society www.cancer.org
National Cancer Institute www.cancer.gov
Cancer Care www.cancercareinc.org

CARE PROGRAMS
The National Long-Term Care Ombudsman Resource Center 202-332-2275 www.nccnhr.org
Long-term care ombudsman www.ltcombudsman.org
Administration on Aging, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (202) 619-0724 www.aoa.gov

CAREGIVING
AARP Caregivers Circle Discussion Board http://community.aarp.org
Children of Aging Parents 1-800-227-7294 www.caps4caregivers.org
Administration on Aging www.aoa.dhhs.gov/caregivers
American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging www.aahsa.org/public/consumer.htm
National Council on Aging Benefits Check Up www.benefitscheckup.org
National Association of Professional Geriatric Care Managers www.caremanager.org

COMPUTER SAVVY SITES

Ask Mr. Modem www.mrmodem.com
Library of Congress Explore the Internet lcweb.loc.gov/global/explore.htm
Learn The Net www.learnthenet.com
Help-site.com help-site.com
Life on the Internet www.screen.com/start/guide
Living Easy www.livineasy.com
AARP Computers & Technology www.aarp.org/comptech/

DEPRESSION SITES
National Institute of Mental Health www.nimh.nih.gov/publicat/depoldermenu.cfm
National Mental Health Association 1-800-969 www.nmha.org
American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry www.aagpgpa.org
American Psychological Association 1-800-374-2721 www.apa.org

DIET
American Dietetic Association www.eatright.org
National Cancer Institute - 5 A Day Program www.5aday.gov
National Center for Nutrition 1-800-366-1655

DRIVING
National Highway Transportation Safety Administration www.nhtsa.dot.gov
Driving Safely While Aging Gracefully www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/olddrive
Read Your Road www.ohs.fhwa.dot.gov/outreach/ryr/
Driving Safely While Aging Gracefully www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/olddrive/
American Public Transportation Association www.apta.com

EMPLOYMENT
The Senior Job Bank www.seniorjobbank.org
Senior Community Service Employment Program wdsc.doleta.gov/seniors
The National Senior Citizens Education And Research Center www.nscerc.org
Experience Works www.experienceworks.org
AARP Working Options www.aarp.org/working_options

EYE CARE
The National Eye Institute www.nei.nih.gov
Prevent Blindness America www.preventblindness.org
Glaucoma Foundation www.glaucomafoundation.org
Macular Degeneration Foundation: www.eyesight.org
American Macular Degeneration Foundation: www.macular.org
Macular Degeneration Network: www.macular-degeneration.org

FINANCIAL HELP
Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards www.cfp-board.org
Consumer Federation of America www.consumerfed.org
Federal Consumer Information Center www.pueblo.gsa.gov
American Savings Education Council www.asec.org
Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration www.dol.gov/dol/pwba
U.S. Securities and Exchange www.sec.gov

FLU PREVENTION
Flu Facts For Everyone www.cdc.gov/nip/flu
Focus On The Flu www.niaid.nih.gov/newsroom/focuson/flu00/

FRAUD
Federal Trade Commission www.ftc.gov
National Fraud Information Center www.fraud.org
U.S. Department of Justice www.usdoj.gov/criminal/fraud/telemarke
Medicare www.medicare.gov/FraudAbuse/Overview.asp
Department of Health and Human Services www.dhhs.gov/progorg/oei/outreach/outreach.htm

FUNERAL PLANNING
Funeral Consumers Alliance 1-800-458-5563 www.funerals.org
National Funeral Directors Association 1-800-228-6332 www.nfda.org/resources
Funeral Service Consumer Assistance Program: 1-800-662-7666
Cremation Association of North America www.cremationassociation.org

GENEALOGY
Rootsweb www.rootsweb.com
Cyndi’s List www. cyndislist.com
Beginners Course www.genealinks.com/begin.htm
www.familysearch.org
www.usgenweb.com
www.genforum.genealogy.com
www.census-online.com
www.glorecords.blm.gov
www.itd.nps.gov/cwss
www.interment.net (cemeteries)
Fee based
Ancestry www.Ancestry.com
Family Tree Maker www.Genealogy.com

GRANDPARENTING
Foundation For Grandparenting www.grandparenting.org
AARP Grandparent Information Center www.aarp.org/grandparents
Grand Parent Again www.grandparentagain.com
GrandsPlace www.grandsplace.com

HEARING
Free hearing test www.freehearingtest.com
National Campaign for Hearing Health www.hearinghealth.net
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association www.asha.org
Sight & Hearing Info www.sightandhearing.org
Government Health Finder www.healthfinder.gov
Better Hearing www.betterhearing.org
  HEART CARE
American Heart Association www.americanheart.org
Congenital Heart Information Network www.tchin.org
Women and Heart Disease www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/cvd/womensatlas
CDCs Cardiovascular Health Program - www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/cvd
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute www.nhlbi.nih.gov
Nutrition, Health Heart Disease; Cause Prevention www.health-heart.org

HOSPICE
Hospice Association of America www.hospice-america.org
Hospice Net www.hospicenet.org
Hospice Web www.hospiceweb.com
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization www.nhpco.org

HRT
Administration on Aging - Hormone Replacement Therapy www.aoa.gov/NAIC/Notes/hormone.html
National Institute on Aging Hormone Replacement Therapy www.nia.nih.gov
North American Menopause Society www.menopause.org
The Hormone Society www.hormone.org
Menopause Online www.menopause-online.com/index.html

INCONTINENCE
National Association for Continence 1-800-252-3337 www.nafc.org
National Kidney & Urologic Diseases www.niddk.nih.gov/health/urolog/urolog.htm
Welcome to Incontinence.Org www.incontinence.org
Simon Foundation for Continence 1-800-237-4666

INSOMNIA
National Center on Sleep Disorders Research www.nhlbi.nih.gov/sleep
American Academy of Sleep Medicine www.aasmnet.org
National Sleep Foundation www.sleepfoundation.org

LEGAL (WILLS, TRUST AND ESTATE)
De Leon & Washburn www.dwlawtx.com
National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys www.naela.org/naela/hotlinks.htm
American Bar Association www.abanet.org/store/order.html
American Academy of Estate Planning Attorneys: www.estateplanforyou.com
Nolo Press self help law center: www.nolo.com
American Bar Association: www.abanet.org
MetLife Consumer Education Center: www.lifeadvice.com
Senior Legal Hotlines www.legalhotlines.org
ElderLawAnswers.com www.elderlawanswers.com 


LIFE INSURANCE
National Association of Insurance Commissioners www.naic.org
American Council of Life Insurers www.acli.org

LIVING ALTERNATIVES
National Association of Senior Move Managers www.nasmm.com
Professional Organizing Services www.onlineorganizing.com
National Association of Professional Organizers http://napo.net/
Senior Living Alternatives www.senioralternatives.com
Online Community for Seniors www.seniorcitizens.com
AmericaSelect Senior Living www.marketfinder.com/amselect.html
Friendly 4 Seniors www.friendly4seniors.com
Online Guide to Senior Services www.seniorconcerns.org
The National Citizens’ Coalition for Nursing Home Reform www.nccnhr.org
Senior Compass www.seniorcompass.com

LONG TERM CARE
Health Insurance Association of America www.hiaa.org/cons/guideltc.html
National Association of Insurance Commissioners - Shopper's Guide to Long-term Care Insurance www.naic.org/1pubcat/consumer.htm

MEDICARE
Medicare 1-800-633-4227 www.medicare.gov
TexasSMP  Empowering Seniors to Prevent Healthcare Fraud
www.texassmp.org

MEDIGAP

Medicare Health Plan Compare www.medicare.gov/MPHCompare/Home.asp
Medigap Compare www.medicare.gov/mgcompare/home.asp
State Insurance Departments - Link to your state insurance department Web sites www.naic.org/1regulator/usamap.htm

MESOTHELIOMA
Asbestos Cancer Information www.asbestos.com
Mesothelioma Guide www.mesotheliomaguide.com
Mesothelioma Lawyer www.MesotheliomaLawyerCenter.org

OSTEOPOROSIS
National Institutes of Health: Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases,
National Resource Center www.osteo.org
National Osteoporosis Foundation www.nof.org
National Women's Health Resource Center www.healthywoman.org

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS
Medicare Prescription Drug Assistance Programs www.medicare.gov/Prescription/Home.asp
Free/Discounted/Affordable Prescription Medication - www.makoa.org/freemedicine.htm
Rxassist www.rxassist.org
WellRxCard www.wellrxcard.com
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy complete list of online drugstores www.nabp.net
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America 1-800-762-4636 www.phrma.org
TRICARE Senior Pharmacy Program www.tricare.osd.mil
How to Apply to Free Prescription Drug Programs www.sunflower.org/~cfsdays/freedrug.htm

REVERSE MORTGAGES
National Center for Home Equity Conversion www.reverse.org
National Reverse Mortgage Lenders Association www.reversemortgage.org
U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development www.hud.gov

SOCIAL SECURITY
Social Security Administration 1-800-772-1213 www.ssa.gov

STROKES
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Strokes 1-800-352-9424 www.ninds.nih.gov
American Stroke Association 1-888-478-7653 www.strokassociatiom.org
National Stroke Association 1-800-STROKES www.stroke.org

TAXES
Internal Revenue Service 1-800-829-1040 www.irs.gov

TRAVEL
Elderhostel www.elderhostel.org
GRANDTRAVEL www.grandtrvl.com

VETERANS
Department of Veterans Affairs www.va.gov
Texas Veterans www.texasveterans.com
Veterans Mesothelioma www.MesotheliomaVeterans.org

VOLUNTEERISM 
The Settlement Home for Children www.settlementhome.org
Volunteer Match www.volunteermatch.org
American Hospice Foundation www.americanhospice.org
America’s Second Harvest www.secondharvest.org
Big Brothers Big Sisters of America www.bbbsa.org
Habitat for Humanity www.habitat.org
Meals on Wheels www.mowaa.org
National Mentoring Partnership www.mentoring.org
Points of Light Foundation www.pointsoflight.org
Rebuilding Together www.rebuildingtogether.com
SHIP www.medicare.gov/Contacts/Related/Ships.asp
National Silver Haired Congress www.natlshc.org 
Texas Silver Haired Legislature www.txshl.org 
Website Builder